One of the hot food products this year is the Stuffed Puffs. This is a marshmallow with some chocolate inside. Making this the perfect S’more marshmallow.
I was surprised to find some at a local Market Basket. So I picked up a couple of packages.
My daughter was delighted that I brought some home and couldn’t wait to make s’mores.
She had a couple of them and thought they were just okay. I think she was expecting more chocolate inside.
We noticed that when we cooked them over the fire that the outside would sizzle as if it had a sugar coating.
That got me thinking - what is inside the marshmallow? So I checked the ingredients and was surprised to find its more than marshmallows and plain chocolate.
There is a bit of a surprise if you are a celiac- the marshmallow contains Wheat.
Facts from Stuffed Puffs
According to the Stuff Puffs frequently asked questions:
Stuffed Puffs® Classic Milk Chocolate and Chocolate-on-Chocolate flavors are inherently gluten-free, however, they are not a Certified Gluten-Free product. This is because while there is no wheat in the ingredient list they are made in a facility that processes wheat products.
Our Cookies &n Creme flavor does contain some wheat as it includes a cookie crumble filling.
Note: On their website, the ingredients don't list Wheat in the "Contained Ingredients".
My daughter didn’t encounter any Gluten side effects from eating the marshmallows. She said that she felt fine the next morning.
We were happy that she didn’t get sick and I felt bad that I didn’t check to see if the marshmallows were safe.
We probably won’t use the rest of the marshmallows- out of caution. Instead, we may make our own stuff marshmallows
I think she likes making s’mores the old fashion way - with a recesses peanut butter cup instead of a Hershey bar.
Add your Comments
Feel free to leave a comment about this post.